The annual DESY Theory Workshop is organized by the elementary particle physics community in Germany. The focus is on a topical subject in theoretical particle physics and related fields. The workshop features:


  • Four half-day plenary sessions of specialized talks by invited speakers.
  • Two half-days of parallel sessions, allowing young researchers to present their work.
  • The DESY Heinrich-Hertz-Lecture on Physics for public outreach.


Plenary Talks
D. Baumann (U. Amsterdam) *
V. Cardoso (U. Lisbon)
M. Cicoli (U. Bologna)
V. Domcke (DESY)
M. Hindmarsh (U. Sussex)
M.Laine (U. Bern)
D. Marsh (U. Gottingen) *
S. Nissanke (U. Amsterdam)
C. O'Hare (U. Sydney)
M. Reece (U. Harvard) *
B. Safdi (U. Michigan) *
P. Schwaller (U. Mainz)
M. Simonovic (CERN)
T. Slatyer (MIT)
D. Steer (APC, Paris)
A. Taylor (DESY Zeuthen)
M. Tytgat (Brussels)
F. Vernizzi (IPhT, Saclay)
Y. Wong (UNSW Sydney)

* to be confirmed

DESY Heinrich Hertz Lecture on Physics
Matias Zaldarriaga (IAS Princeton)
Wednesday, September 23, 2021, DESY Auditorium

Parallel Sessions and Convenors

Contributions by young researchers are especially encouraged. Deadline for abstract submission will be on July 20, 2021.

Cosmology & Astroparticle Physics:

C. Garcia Cely (DESY), J. Harz (TU Munich)

Particle Phenomenology:

F. Bishara (DESY), S. Westhoff (U. Heidelberg)

Strings & Mathematical Physics:

O. Hohm (Humboldt U.), F. Rühle (CERN)


Organizing Committee

M. Bartelmann, D. Bodeker, L. Covi (Chair), J. Gair, A. Hebecker, T. Konstandin, J. Kopp, G. Moore, J. Niemeyer, R. Porto, J. Redondo, G. Servant, G. Sigl, W. Winter